About SuperSport United

About SuperSport United
SuperSport United

by Staff Reporter

Tuesday Jun 09, 2015. 14:42

Formed in 1994 when television giants M-Net bought Pretoria City, SuperSport United have previously managed to break the dominance of the ‘big three’ in South Africa – Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates and Mamelodi Sundowns.

Known by the nickname ‘Matsatsantsa’, United play their home games at the 29,000-seater Lucas Moripe Stadium in Atteridgeville, Pretoria, and finished sixth on the Absa Premiership log for the 2014/15 season.

SuperSport is managed by Gordon Igesund, a former South Africa senior national team coach who is the only man to win the PSL championship with four different teams (Manning Rangers, Orlando Pirates, Santos and Mamelodi Sundowns).

The won three successive league titles from 2008 to 2010 and have also claimed three National Cups (1999, 2005, 2012), one Top Eight (2004) and last season’s League Cup trophy.